Community Support

Font does not show special characters  

RSS
dl8aap
(@dl8aap)

Hi there,

I am really new to the Weather Station and couldn't find any answers concerning bad font issues.

So in the line chart the degree character is shown as °C and the big dot as &#9679.

In the gauge chart the degree char is correct as °C

I've added a screenshot from my website.

These are the version information of the system:

• WordPress 5.3.2 (PHP 7.3.15 / MySQL 5.5.60).
  • Weather Station 3.8.9 "Danakil"

I also added Awesome Font plugin and tried to check the correct behaviour of the font with different setting. But that didn't help.

Is there something I missed and how can I get proper characters to show?

Thanks @all

Carsten

This topic was modified 1 month ago by dl8aap
Posted : 09/03/2020 1:42 pm
Topic Tags
Gerhard Witteveen
(@gerhard)
Reputable Member 🇳🇱 🇧🇪 Editor

Hey Carsten,

I do think it has to do with the Font Awesome-settings. But to see the change, you need to invalidate the cache (in maintenance-menu) to see the change, if I remember correctly.

Hope this helps!

Gerhard

ReplyQuote
Posted : 09/03/2020 8:53 pm
dl8aap
(@dl8aap)

Hi Gerhard,

thanks for your help. I deactivated all cache functions in the maintenace menu and played around with the font settings. But sadly it didn't work.

I also took care of the cache options in Wordpress itself, since I have some images from external sources which are changing dynamically. Even deleting the browser's cache did not help.

Maybe someone has another idea?

This post was modified 4 weeks ago by dl8aap
ReplyQuote
Posted : 10/03/2020 11:43 am
dl8aap
(@dl8aap)

Dear all,

Maybe I can give an additional information. Only on the published page the characters (degree and big dot) are not translated. They are completely translated on the dashboard and also on the published page in the interactive information box.  See screenshot. So I am wondering how the font set is working in the background.

Anyone who can help?